The Philippines’ first and only industry magazine that deals with safety and security matters pervading the environment today.

Pangasinan assures security of Palaro participants

President Aquino formally opened this year’s Palarong Pambansa (National Games) in grand ceremonies held at the Narciso Ramos Sports and Civic Center today (May 7).

In his speech keynoting the event, the President said that the Palarong Pambansa, the “biggest sports event in the Philippines,” will provide some 10,000 elementary and secondary school athletes a chance to showcase their skills and talents as they vie for honors in their chosen sports field.

“Ito pong Palarong Pambansa ang nagsisilbing pinakamalaking entablado upang maipamalas ng lahing Pinoy ang kanyang angking kagalingan sa larangan ng palakasan,” the President said.

“Sa mga susunod na araw, masasaksihan ng sambayanan ang pagtatagisan ng galling, ang mga patalasan ng dunong, ang pagpapamalas ng husay ng mga atletang Pinoy mula sa iba’t ibang larangan, mula sa iba’t ibang rehiyon ng Pilipinas,” he added.

The President honored the participants saying he hoped that they remain inspirations for the Filipino youth to emulate.

“Sa inyong lahat na nandito ngayon: saludo ako sa inyo. Nawa’y maging mabuting halimbawa kayo sa kapwa niyong kabataan. Nawa’y maging bukal kayo ng inspirasyon sa iba pa niyong mga kababayan,” the President said.

The President then wished luck to all participants and their endeavors of achieving triumph for their respective regions.

“Ngayon po, pormal na nating binubuksan at pinasisimulan ang Palarong Pambansa 2012. Sa inyong lahat: good luck sa inyong mga laban. Mabuhay po ang kabataang Pilipino; mabuhay ang atletang Pinoy,” the President said.

Meanwhile, Police Regional Director Franklin Bucayu has assured full security for all athletic delegations in the national sportsfest.

Bucayu said that PNP personnel will be properly and strategically deployed in all game venues as well as billeting areas to ensure that all Palaro delegates will be safe and secured in the duration of the national event.

“Earlier, we have requested for a gun ban to make sure that no unlawful element will take advantage of the situation that will compromise the status of Pangasinan as a peaceful place to visit or to live in,” Bucayo said.

The Sangguniang Panlalawigan has passed a resolution adopting the recommendation of the Pangasinan Police for the enforcement of a total gun ban from April 27 to May 15 in time for Pistay Dayat festival and Palarong Pambansa.

Under the ban, only the police and other members of law enforcement agencies will be allowed to carry firearms outside of their residences but in proper uniform and while performing their duties.

Bucayu said PNP personnel would secure the vicinity of the Narciso Ramos Sports and Civic Center (NRSCC), where sports events like arnis, athletics, basketball, football, sepak takraw/sipa, tennis and volleyball will be conducted. These personnel will be tasked to man the tennis court, open court, bleacher areas, oval, gymnasium, parking area and the media center.

All other game venues will equally be secured to include the following areas: Capitol Resort Hotel (archery), CSI Stadia (badminton and table tennis), PNP PPO (baseball and tennis), Lingayen Municipal Plaza (boxing), Pangasinan Training and Development Center (chess), Pangasinan State University/Virgen Milagrosa University (football, volleyball and tennis), People’s Astrodome (gymnastics), Resuello-Arenas Gym (sepak takraw/sipa), Capitol beachfront (softball), Dagupan Poolsite (swimming), Divine Word Academy of Dagupan (taekwondo), Baay Elementary School (volleyball), Tonton Elementary School (volleyball).

Billeting sites will likewise be manned by the police force to ensure that all delegations will be safe such as the following: Pangasinan National High School (Region 1), Labrador Central School and Labrador High School (Reg. II), Dagupan City National High School (Reg. III), Estanza Elementary School and Estanza National High School (Reg. IV-A), Tandoc Elementary School and Tandoc National High School (Reg. IV-B), Calasiao Central School (Reg. V), San Carlos Elementary School II (Reg. VI), Lingayen 1 Central School (Reg. VII), Binmaley School of Fisheries and TESDA (Reg. VIII), Binmaley North Elementary School and Binmaley 1 Central School (Reg. IX), Domalandan Central School (Reg. X), Calasiao Comprehensive National High School (Reg. XI), SEPNAS (Reg. XII), San Carlos Central School 1 (Reg. XIII), Polong Elementary and Polong National High School (ARMM), Bugallon Integrated School and Torres Elementary School (CAR), Dagupan West Central School 1 and Dagupan West Central School II (NCR).